Seoul day 48/113–10/17

Alligator
2 min read5 hours ago

--

FINALLY I CAN WRITE ABOUT SOMETHING EXCITING!

I had my usual classes (of course yada yada) but I did something amazing. I finally decided to go on a solo trip, and I booked my entire Shanghai + Hong Kong trip! It was a lot of work, and a moment of distress when I found out that lot of people think Shanghai sucks as a tourist destination, but I pulled through my pure sheer will! Honestly, I was set on my leaving the country and saving my travelling for the end, but I kept finding myself going back to google flights and I thought it meant something so I just pulled the trigger.

Inbetween this day-long process that ended around 6pm, I had a really memorable lunch. I was intrigued — cheeseburger pastry? It had potential. Alas, it was cheap spongey ground meet in undercooked pastry dough and a non-complex ketchup-like brown sauce. The banchan did not compliment it at all, spicy radish and regular radish, and overall it was a goopy mess. I did love the banchan salad (I loaded up) and the sesame dressing was so delicious with the crunchy romaine and salty cheese. There was also some garlic-sauteed bok choy which I enjoyed.

I decided to celebrate booking my trip by heading to Myeongdong and getting my classes one-person 9,900 won barbeque. It was very filling, and even though I know its cheap meat I can’t taste the difference.

I ended the day by hiking Namsan Mountain and getting to the tower-something I will have to redo for my Seoul Fortress Trail walk. It was honestly a really hard walk, I was wearing a thick jacket and couldn’t take it off to protect from mosquitos. The view was nice, but I’ve seen a million mountain views of the city at that points. I continued reading my books, and then called it a night around 10pm and headed back.

Highlights:
- N Seoul Tower

  • Namsam Mountain

--

--